FTA Announces 2015 LCRS Awards Winners

FTA Announces 2015 LCRS Awards Winners

The winners of the 2015 Logistics Carbon Reduction Scheme (LCRS) Awards were announced on Wednesday 13 May at the Freight Transport Association’s Logistics Carbon Reduction Conference.

The judging panel was extremely impressed with the calibre of entrants to this year’s Awards which was described as higher than ever. John Parkinson, Director – Motoring, Freight and London, Department for Transport, who was one of the judges, said:

“I had the privilege of judging the LCRS Awards last year as well – and the calibre of entries this year is just as good, if not better. These Awards are extremely important to the logistics industry and are great for industry leaders pressing forward with carbon reduction who receive the recognition, hopefully encouraging others to increase their efforts.”

The LCRS Awards celebrate the efforts of green leaders in the freight industry, and recognise the efforts of individual members of the FTA-led LCRS scheme to reduce carbon emissions from their freight activity. The 2015 awards included six categories which offered entrants a range of different ways to demonstrate their work towards reducing carbon from freight.

Rachael Dillon, FTA’s Climate Change Policy Manager, congratulated the 2015 winners:

“It’s brilliant to see such a wide range of carbon reduction actions from the winners and highly commended companies. From focusing on fuel efficiency and green fuels to moving freight onto rail, they are showing real determination to play their part in reducing carbon emissions from freight. The Awards recognise their hard work and they should be proud of their efforts. I hope that the Awards will encourage others to join the LCRS and reduce emissions.”

The 2015 LCRS Awards categories and winners are:

Fuel efficient operator of the year
(Sponsored by Bridgestone)
Winner: Warburtons
Highly commended: Hargreaves Logistics

Leader in logistics carbon reduction
(Sponsored by DAF)
Winner: Wincanton

Excellence in modal shift
(Sponsored by Intermodality)
Winner: Morrisons
Highly commended: Eddie Stobart

Smaller fleet operator of the year

(Sponsored by PTV Group)
Winner: Longcliffe Quarries Ltd

Green fuel and technology operator of the year
(Sponsored by Texaco)
Winner: Sainsbury’s
Highly commended: London Borough of Hackney

Logistics carbon innovator of the year
(Sponsored by FTA)
Winner: Commercial Group
Highly commended: Brit European Transport Ltd

Featured T&L Sustainability
T&L 263
T&L 262
T&L 261