Shipping 'Oscars' Held At National Maritime Museum

Shipping 'Oscars' Held At National Maritime Museum

Lloyd’s List is to hold its annual global shipping awards at Britain’s National Maritime Museum with two new awards up for grabs. Nominations are now open for 15 awards that celebrate shipping’s significant contribution to global business and maritime endeavour.

Lloyd’s List has opened entries for its 2015 global shipping awards.  The best and brightest of the global shipping industry will gather for a gala dinner and awards presentation on October 1 at London’s iconic National Maritime Museum.

“The Lloyd’s List Global Awards showcase and reward the best talent and achievements in shipping over the last year,” says Richard Meade, Editor-in-Chief at Lloyd’s List. “We are also adding two new categories to this year’s awards – one to recognise the next generation of the industry and another to focus on the seismic importance of ‘big data’ in seaborne trade.”

As with many industries around the world, in the current shipping market the difference between success and failure is often a question of market confidence in the quality of a business’s operations.

Being independently judged as the best of the best by a group of respected industry peers is more than a stamp of approval – it is marketing that money simply cannot buy.  The Lloyd’s List Global Awards are a vibrant celebration of the key players in global shipping and winning an award is hailed worldwide as a significant mark of success.

“This year we are moving the awards ceremony to the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich – a venue befitting of our own maritime heritage and the perfect setting for a celebration of success in shipping,” explains Meade.  “There, the winners of our 15 categories will be celebrated by the biggest names in shipping.”

As ever, the awards will be independently judged by a leading panel of experts from across the shipping industry that will assess entries on merit. This year’s judging panel will feature:

  • Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry, president, World Maritime University
  • Michael Parker, industry head of global shipping and logistics, Citi
  • Haralambos Fafalios, chairman of the Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee
  • Harry Theochari, global head of transport, Norton Rose Fulbright
  • Peter Hinchliffe, secretary-general, International Chamber of Shipping
  • Tor Svensen, chief executive officer, DNV GL Maritime
  • Sadan Kaptanoglu, board member, Kaptanoglu Holding and vice-president, BIMCO
  • Ravi Mehrotra, executive chairman, Foresight
  • Katharina Stanzel, managing director, Intertanko
  • Nicolas Bornozis, president, Capital Link

Entries are now being accepted by Lloyd’s List for its 2015 global shipping awards.  The entry deadline is 12th June 2015.  For more information and/or to enter, please visit:

Featured T&L Shipping, Ports & Marine
T&L 264
T&L 263
T&L 262