15 HGV drivers from companies including: Agrii, Bidvest 3663, Birchall Foodservice, Brocklesby Logistics, Carlsberg, CEVA, Chamberlain Transport, Culina, Mitchell’s, Samworth Brothers, Synergy, and W M Armstrong have been named as finalists in the inaugural Microlise Driver of the Year Awards.

The list includes five drivers in each of three categories; short, medium and long distance, all of who will enjoy a Porsche track day courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK. One driver will be named winner of each category, with an overall winner crowned Microlise Driver of the Year.

The awards will be presented at next week’s Microlise Conference held at the Ricoh Arena on 20 May. It is the first time the awards have been staged and the winners will be presented with their trophies by Road Haulage Association’s chief executive, Richard Burnett.

90,000 drivers were initially assessed against a range of criteria, based on data collected by the Microlise telematics solution throughout 2014.

The University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre analysed the data, which was anonymised, generating an initial shortlist of fifteen drivers in each category. Questionnaires were then collected for each driver, to highlight reasons why a driver might be a deserving winner.

The Road Haulage Association was provided with the data and questionnaires, both of which remained anonymous, and selected five drivers on each category shortlist.

“We congratulate the drivers who have been shortlisted for these prestigious awards,” said Richard Burnett. “Drivers play a crucial and often unrecognised role in the haulage industry and we fully support the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards which recognise the outstanding contribution made by drivers. These 15 drivers represent the best of the best. They have made it through from an initial pool of 90,000 drivers, so the achievement in being shortlisted is significant.”

The Microlise Transport Conference features speakers from a range of organisations, as well as an exhibition area of industry associations and suppliers. The conference, which is chaired by industry lobbyist Quentin Willson, is expected to attract upwards of 1,000 delegates, making it the largest dedicated road transport conference ever held in the UK. The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards will be presented during the afternoon session.

“The response to the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has been fantastic,” said Bob Harbey, executive director of Microlise. “The companies we have contacted, following their drivers being shortlisted, have been excited and proud that their drivers are featured, and they recognise the size of the achievement in a driver making the short list when up against so many of their peers. We were keen to do something to recognise the vital role that drivers play in the transport industry, and are grateful of the support we have had from the Road Haulage Association, the University of Nottingham and MAN Truck & Bus UK”, added Harbey.

For further information on the Microlise Transport Conference and the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, or to register to attend the conference, please visit