Vehicle Technology Star ABB Wins Coveted Industry Accolade

IET Innovation Awards Vehicle Technology category winner ABB

Vehicle Technology Star ABB Wins Coveted Industry Accolade

Institution of Engineering and Technology names 2013 Innovation Award winners

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has announced the winners of its prestigious Innovation Awards; and this year the accolade in the Vehicle Technologies category has gone to ABB for their ‘Energy Recuperation System (ERS) for Recovery of Train Braking Energy’ innovation.

ABB developed the energy recuperation system as part of its ENVILINE range to meet the growing demand for energy recovery in railway DC traction applications. The new solution, launched this year, offers a huge opportunity to improve the energy-efficiency and sustainability of rail transportation systems.

The ABB team scooped the award beating four other shortlisted entries, selected from an overall 400 entries from 30 countries. The other shortlisted entries came from esteemed companies Supply Design, MTR Corporation Ltd, Cycle Alert Ltd and Imperial College London.

Barry Brooks, IET President said: “The ABB team should be very proud to have won an IET Innovation Award. They were selected from a highly impressive set of global developments as one of the most forward thinking, pioneering innovations in the field.

“These awards are part of the IET’s efforts to inspire engineering excellence, which this year has provided over £1,000,000 to celebrate excellence and research in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians.  Our awards seek to highlight the industry’s elite, from apprentices and technicians at the start of their careers through to senior established professionals.”

Bryce Denboer, Sector Manager from ABB, said: “We are really pleased to have won this award – it’s great to receive such recognition from an institution as renowned and long-running as the IET.  Hopefully this award will mean that we can continue to invest in the innovation for many more years.”

Share this post