Cream Of The Region’s Transport And Logistics Industry Acknowledged At CILT NW Region Gala Awards Dinner


Cream Of The Region’s Transport And Logistics Industry Acknowledged At CILT NW Region Gala Awards Dinner

The region’s transport and logistics businesses gathered in Liverpool on 20th June to celebrate the best in the passenger and freight sectors of the transport industry at the 2014 Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) North West Awards for Education and Excellence.

Almost 300 guests attended a gala dinner at what was the first event to be held at the brand new Titanic Liverpool Hotel, with ten awards presented to individuals and organisations that have excelled and added value or changed perceptions within the industry for the benefit of the North West Region and beyond.

The event in Association with Peel Ports was hosted by the BBC’s Dave Guest, with speeches from Beverley Bell the Senior Traffic Commissioner, Louise Ellman MP and Nikki King OBE, Honorary Chairman of Isuzu Truck UK.

Simon Reynish, new Chairman of NW Region CILT UK and event organiser commented, “The standard of entrant for this year’s awards was higher than ever and the worthy winners and finalists are a great showcase for our industry and the transport and logistics sector here in the north west.”

Recipient of the Lifetime achievement Award, Les Burton who retired from Stagecoach Merseyside last year, after 47 years in the bus industry said, “This has come as a complete surprise and I am delighted to receive such a prestigious award from my fellow members of the CILT”.


The Winners and finalists in each category are


Student of the Year

Winner:- Raza Khan of the Manchester Business School, University of Manchester

Finalists:- Silke Wiedholz of the University of Central Lancashire and Phillip Winston of Liverpool John Moores University


Young Freight Transport Manager of the Year

Winner:- Paul Davison of AECOM

Winners and finalists continued


Young Passenger Transport Manager of the Year

Winner:- Matthew Hay of First TransPennine Express

Finalists:- Jenna Smith of Arriva North West and Gareth Williams of Northern Rail


Award for Best Practise in Freight Transport

Winner:- Nagel-Langdons

Finalist:- Abbey Logistics Group


Award for Best Practise in Passenger Transport

Winner:- Merseytravel

Finalists:- First Transpennine Express, Northern Rail and Stagecoach Manchester


Award for Environmental Improvement in Passenger Transport

Winner:- Stagecoach Manchester

Finalist:- Northern Rail


Award for Environmental Improvement in Freight Transport

Winner:- Sefton Council ECO Stars

Finalist:- AECOM


Service to the Passenger Transport Industry

Winner:- Kathryn O’Brien of First Transpennine Express

Finalists:- Stephen Green of Northern Rail and Peter Robinson of TravelWatch NW


Service to the Freight Transport Industry

Winner:- Simon Temple of AECOM

Finalist:- Clare Bottle of Hermes Europe


Lifetime Achievement Award

Les Burton

Share this post